Why should I backup my online content

June 5, 2012 § 1 Comment

We create and store more and more on the web. An inevitable progression, as we rush to share photos with Facebook friends, coordinate with colleagues on Google docs, upload to Flickr albums for extended family, or express our points of view on Instagram. We are instantly connected online, through a powerful and personal set of visual images and eloquent statements. Available to us always, from any device, anywhere we go.

But are they really? Sometimes we think that our photos and documents are forever, simply because they are online. Ubiquitous, secure, safe. Not necessarily.

I embarked on a dream cruise of the western Mediterranean two years ago, and took to writing a travel diary to capture the daily explorations and revelations of Italy, France and Spain. I saved it as a document in one of my Yahoo groups. for easy sharing. Last year, my family shifted over to a Facebook group, and I shut down my Yahoo group without thinking. I lost the document in the process, and only a series of hopeful email to extended family finally yielded up a survivor several months later. If only I had saved a copy of my own online document.

I’ve also been caught by surprise by changes to access permissions. Most of our year’s events seem to have been encapsulated in Facebook photos, either my albums or my friends’. In the last 3 months though, those photos I took for granted – of my daughter’s junior prom, the fall camping trip, the Las Vegas girls weekend – vanished from sight. The prom: my friend deleted his online album. Camping: my buddy deleted a Facebook group and I was out in the cold. Vegas: my girlfriend reset album permissions and forgot about me. By accident or design, photos I considered safe and mine disappeared. If only I had copied over the online photos where I had been tagged.

Friends have been telling me about running into trouble with their online services, of accounts being frozen and online content out of reach for a time. And then there was Megaupload.

Besides, I dread looking for pictures and documents if they are more than a few months old. They are stored in a dizzying array of online providers. I’d much rather have them all stored in one single repository that belongs to me. Where I can be sure of uninterrupted access, easy searching and secure storage. A giant data locker in the cloud.

This is where Primadesk comes in. I get to backup all my online content in one place. Some providers I back up on a monthly basis: I really don’t need a frequent backup of my school chess, drama and golf schedules. Others I’ve set to backup on a weekly basis: we are a social family in real life, we get tagged at a brisk rate on other people’s Facebooks, and I need to save those pictures before they vanish. Some I backup every day: my data requirements and system roadmap documents are online repositories of significant IP.

How things have changed in 2 years. I used to religiously back up my hard drive to my backup server. Now I faithfully back up all my online content to Primadesk.

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Why should I backup my online content

  • Will says:

    Excellent method of describing this, and quite no-fluff piece of writing to obtain data targeted toward my presentation subject. I am going to present it next week in my school and it shall now be sharper because of my time here!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Why should I backup my online content at Primadesk Blog.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

